PDA

View Full Version : What to do with my pack while sleeping in my tent?

smokeybones
01-06-2013, 22:24
This may be a dumb question, but what do i do with my pack when i retire to my tent at night? I've been car camping all my life but im pretty new to hiking and have only stayed in shelters so far. Im preparing for a SOBO thru hike in June and im trying to plan it out to a tee. My tent is a eureka solitaire so there's no space for my pack inside. Do i just put the pack cover on it and lean it against a tree? Hang it from a tree like a bear bag? I'm worried that it i just lean it against a tree it will get excessively wet and muddy if it rains and it might get holes chewed in it by little critters.

Thanks,
Wes

T.S.Kobzol
01-06-2013, 22:25
Use it a pillow

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk 2

MuddyWaters
01-06-2013, 22:33
hang it from a tree
hang if from a bush
hang it on your bearline
put it under your legs
leave it in your vestibule

Odd Man Out
01-06-2013, 22:40
If you have packed light enough, the pack will be empty (or nearly so) at night, so under your legs or head, or leaning against the tent pole are all reasonable options.

Cookerhiker
01-06-2013, 22:46
...leave it in your vestibule

This.......

Wombat Farm
01-06-2013, 22:52
I'd have to say that Odd Man Out has it right on the nose. And what's left inside can be used as a pillow (or for the nights that your feet are throbbing a foot elevator!). Enjoy!

Papa D
01-06-2013, 22:55
I'm usually in a Hubba Carbon Reflex or a Six Moons Lunar Solo which are both pretty small solo tents and I have plenty of room for my backpack - - I usually stash it by my feet or put my feet on it. It's also handy in a not so perfect tent site for shimming.

canoe
01-06-2013, 23:04
hang it from a tree
hang if from a bush
hang it on your bearline
put it under your legs
leave it in your vestibule

OK Dr Zuess. LOL

swjohnsey
01-06-2013, 23:25
Like he said, if you packed right it should be empty. Put it under your feet.