PDA

View Full Version : Question Regarding Backpacking Pots!

AllenM8
01-12-2013, 19:09
I am fairly new to the backpacking scene with doing about 6 backpacking trips total now. So far I have used the GSI ketalist, which seems really only good for making dehydrated meals. I've talked to a few of my buddies going to the AT in the next week, and they seem to be bringing bacon, steak, etc. for the trip since it will be fairly cold. I was wondering what a good pot set for me to upgrade to eventually for future hikes that give me more options. I see on our for sell forum all types of cookware but I don't know what is right for me. I would love something to fit my msr whisperlite stove in as well. Thanks for any help!!!

George

Duramax22
01-12-2013, 19:15
Well i have a gsi soloist which is pretty big, now i use a snowpeak hybrid which i prefer, but your not going to be cooking steak in it. i do have plenty of room to cook pasta and such in it tho.

The Snowman
01-12-2013, 19:47
Snowpeak makes some very nice high end cook sets as does MSR.

Feral Bill
01-12-2013, 22:19
Maybe just add a light fry pan?

FarmerChef
01-12-2013, 22:42
For steak or bacon you're pretty much in pan territory if you don't have a grill and some foil or something. Not sure how the "others" you refer to plan to cook theirs. I mean, you could cut it up small enough to fit in your pot. For rice or pasta sides that would be delicious.

q-tip
01-13-2013, 13:43
Oil Camp XLS Cook Pot-7.9 oz--saves 40% of fule - .5 liter boil time 2:00min- tested it myself

bert304
01-13-2013, 16:02
I carry the GSI buggaboo Backpacker, it has a nice size pot. I use it for my son and my self. Here is a link to Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/GSI-44215-Outdoors-Bugaboo-Backpacker/dp/B001LF3HYO/ref=sr_1_1?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1358107303&sr=1-1&keywords=gsi+backpacker

Here are some details: 2-person outdoor cookware set with pot, pan, and dishes
2-liter pot, 8-inch frypan, and straining lid