PDA

View Full Version : Cold Weather Layering

silverwing172
01-17-2013, 14:00
I'm sure this issued has been addressed before, as I recall reading several posts about this a long time ago, however I am new on here and have been unable to find those posts.

I plan to do a 2 day, 20 mile camping/hiking trip in a few weeks in the Blue Ridge Parkway of NC to test out my gear. However, I am just getting into long distant hiking and have no experience with cold weather hiking. The mountains of NC this time of the year can be quite cold, and I want to be as warm as possible while taking the least amount of clothes. I recall seeing that there were specific types of clothes to layer with to whisk the moisture and sweat away from the body to stay warm and dry. Can someone please tell me what the best suggestions are for layering? My biggest concern is at night while sleeping, though I am borrowing a friend's cold weather sleeping bag.

Thank you very much!!!!

swjohnsey
01-17-2013, 14:10
Outer windproof/waterproof layer. Something like Driducks will work or Marmot Precip.

Insulating layer. I use 100 wt fleece pants and 1/2 zip 100 wt fleece top. Heavier fleece for colder weather.

Base layer. Until it is very cold I use poly shorts and long sleeve poly T-shirt. Really cold Capilene 1 top and bottom.

Fleece mittens with Shells

Fleece Balacava.

When you are moving and working hard you will be wearing very little, like T-shirt and shorts even down to freezing if the wind isn't blowin' hard. Most of the insulation comes in when you stop. You can sleep in your fleece for added warmth at night.

topshelf
01-17-2013, 14:33