PDA

View Full Version : Ultra Light Chacos?

austinwilcox
06-03-2005, 14:43
Hi, My name is Austin Wilcox.

Im interning with the design department at Chaco sandals this summer and have been kicking around the idea for an Ultra Light Chaco. Same funcion as a normal Chaco, just ultra light. What I would like to hear from anyone here on this page is what they would like to see in an ultralight Chaco. Right now, Im the only one comming up with the ideas but while I like to hike as much as the next guy, I work as a river guide and as I already weigh over 200 lbs, so ultra light has never been a huge priority of mine. That all may change thoug, I already camp in a hammock I built myself. If any of you have the time and inclination, as zellots of the ultra light lifestyle, it would be helpful to me if you were to give me a detailed description of what you would like to see in an ultra light Chaco. Things like, what might be a heaviest weight where you would really consider it an ultra light and want to use them? Where and how would you be using it, side hilling off trail or more on the beaten path? Would it be your primary pair of shoes or would you just wear them on hikes and would you expect it to be quite as durable as normal Chaco's? Would you expect to be able to trail run in it, etc? Right now I'm the only one coming up with the ideas but it's ultra light people like you who really know what you need so if you wouldn't mind giving me some feedback, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks for your thoughts and info,
Austin Wilcox

minnesotasmith
06-03-2005, 15:53