PDA

View Full Version : question to non thru hikers

trapper
01-20-2013, 21:14
i have a date set of 2017 to thru with my son. my question is does anyone else have the feeling that if they do not thru hike the AT that they will not be content? maybe people who do thru have the same feelings with the other 2 LD trails? anyone have thoughts on this. its a burning desire that never leaves my mind...i have to complete this trail for ME not for anyone or anything else for me

topshelf
01-20-2013, 21:29
Im currently a graduate student, i have a feeling that if i dont do the trail before i start working, i never will. this eats at me because its been a dream since i was a kid and it doesnt appear ill be able to do the trail. i dont see my future work plans ever allowing me to take off to hike the AT.

Sarcasm the elf
01-20-2013, 21:45
Trapper, excellent question! I'm having trouble answering it without writing too long of a rambling response.

I guess the short answer is that I hike to go hiking and I overnight/section hike because that's the kind of camping I like to do (as opposed to car camping). I had dreamed of thru hiking back when I did my first hikes on the A.T. in Boy Scouts, but the more time I spend on the trail and the more experience I get, the less I care about goals, I just go out because I like being out there. I still like making miles, but I've found that I don't care as much as I used to whether those miles are a new section of trail that I can add to my list or the same section in Connecticut that I've done a half dozen times.

A lot of this does reflect the point that I'm at in my life, if I had gotten back into hiking a few years earlier than I did then I probably would have attempted a thru hike, but now I go out there to exercise, relax and reflect (some people would say to "escape", but that's not the right word for why I go).