PDA

View Full Version : Bending Tent Stakes

hlynch81
06-07-2005, 00:43
Hi All,

First, some quick background: I'm a novice backpacker, and I've done a few 3-6 day outings during my two years in Korea (just came home). I was either staying at a shelter (they are huge, multi-level deals there) or tenting with a hiking partner. So now I"m planning a one-month section hike in Virginia, my first outing in the U.S., and I have my first tent. So I'm practicing in my backyard. No trouble so far, with one exception: I bend tent stakes like they're going out of style. I've gone through half of the ones that came with the tent, and I've even managed to bend one of my new Kelty Nobendium stakes. Those are like $2 a stake, and I can't keep doing this. Any advice?

(When I hit a hard area, I push them down with my shoe. Sometimes it works, sometimes I end up with an L-shaped stake. But will using a rock help?)

Thanks,

hlynch

verber
06-07-2005, 02:08
You have two options. The first is to change your technique. Don't use your foot. Push the stakes in using your hand. I have found that a plastic cap for 1/2" plumbing just fits over the tops of my largest stakes (MSR groundhog) and provides a large enough surface area so I don't hurt my hand when I push the stake into the ground.

The second option is to try other stakes. You could get one unbendable stake which could be used to start a hole that you will then used for your Kelty stakes, or you could replace all your stakes. With what? I have found that Titanium stakes from Vargo are reasonably light and very durable. Their "nail" stake is as close to unbendable as anything I have ever seen. I carry one of their nail stakes in case I need to make holes for other stakes. You could also look at Y stakes. Y stakes are a bit heavier, but close to industructible, and have good holding power.

--mark

plodder
06-07-2005, 05:37