PDA

View Full Version : I will be attempting the ADT this year

The Phoenix
02-01-2013, 14:35
For the past few weeks/months I have been daydreaming of another thru-hike... and two days ago I got a strong urge to hike across America, and have since committed to the idea.

I know the ADT is not a popular trail... and has a few kinks should as roaaaaaaaaad walking for days on end... but I am excited about that...

I am going to put my patriotism to the test as I gut the US of A... I have always loved this country (to the point where I am planning to join the military and spend my life helping it/protecting it), I believe hiking across it and meeting its culture head on will be a great way to put my beliefs to the test!

I am actually contemplating going West to East... to absolutely make sure I get Cali, Nevada, Utah, and Colorado in... before snow... or me burning out (who knows what weeks on end of Kansas will do to me!!!)

I am just beginning to plan this bad-boy... but my mind is set on it... and usually when my mind gets set on something... for better and for worse... I am damn well going to do it.

We shall see what happens!

Slo-go'en
02-01-2013, 15:08
Good luck. I looked into it and decided it was not for me. Getting across Utah and Nevada is a real challenge, as the route rarely goes near water sources. You need to catch water before hand or find a more practical route. Oh, you are from Utah, so maybe getting the water drops arranged might not be too bad.

Thoughts of walking across Kansas under the blistering sun is what turned me off to the whole idea. I would seriously consider one of those roller packs for all the road walks. Doing the ADT is the one "trail" it would be good for. You could carry a heavier load (lots of water) with a lot less effort then if it was on your back. Cooler too. An asian lady recently pushed a shopping cart all the way across the country.

Bucketfoot
02-01-2013, 15:17
Sounds like a real adventure Phoenix. Best of luck to you!