PDA

View Full Version : Springtime

drumhogg
02-08-2013, 12:09
Hello everyone, My name is Joe and I'm planning a small (2-3 day) trek on the BMT in April sometime. I'm new to hiking, & a big guy to boot, so I'm starting slow.
I'd like to start or finish around the Cleveland, TN area (I'm hitchin' a ride with the wife while she's there for work)
I was tentatively thinking having her drop me off at US Hwy 64 then hiking north for a pick up at Hwy 30. What route would you recommend?

Also what temp bag should I use around that time? Would I be ok in a 40 degree bag? (I think I'm a warm to hot sleeper)

Thanks

Yamagame
02-08-2013, 13:14
I don't have my maps out, but can comment on the sleeping bag issue.

I sleep cold and would prefer a 20 or 30 bag for that time of year. A bit of it depends on whether you're going to be there early April or late April. Along the BMT, a little snow at the end of April can happen. But it looks like you're from Michigan? Maybe you will be fine.

SGT Rock
02-08-2013, 15:41
Hello everyone, My name is Joe and I'm planning a small (2-3 day) trek on the BMT in April sometime. I'm new to hiking, & a big guy to boot, so I'm starting slow.
I'd like to start or finish around the Cleveland, TN area (I'm hitchin' a ride with the wife while she's there for work)
I was tentatively thinking having her drop me off at US Hwy 64 then hiking north for a pick up at Hwy 30. What route would you recommend?

Also what temp bag should I use around that time? Would I be ok in a 40 degree bag? (I think I'm a warm to hot sleeper)

Thanks
I assume you are going to start near Thunder Rock and come out at Reliance. That should take about 2 days one night because it is less than 20 miles on the BMT between those two points. A 40 degree bag could work because there are not many high points in that section of trail, you could be camping below 1000' easy. The Lost Creek section of that trail is one of my favorite sections.

drumhogg
02-08-2013, 23:52