PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie with LOTS of questions

todd52
02-11-2013, 18:52
Hi

First, sorry for so many questions (I know it's a LOT!). Complete newbie here. I have tried to make them easier to answer by numbering them. I also tried to avoid a long intro (for now) because of the number of questions but I'm sure I'll be posting a lot more. Thanks bunches :) . Ok, here goes...

1# Where do you check in, register, sign in, obtain a license (or permit) or pay your fee when you enter a trailhead or is that even necessary (ie; can you just find a trailhead and start walking)?.

2# If, while already on the trail, you happen to stumble onto a lake, river, pond or other body of water, can you try to catch a couple of fish or does this require a license/permit/fee/paperwork, etc and how does one go about getting whatever is needed and how much does it cost?.

3# Are you allowed to venture off of the trail and camp, wander around or even try living off the land for a week or two or is it frowned upon? (always thought this would be really cool but not sure I'd ever have the nerve to try it!).

4# Is there a hard limit on how long you can stay at a particular shelter/campsite (for example if your feet get sore and you are down for a few days or longer)?.

5# Are you allowed to make a campfire, cook, etc as long as you act safetly and responsibly, make sure the fire is out and clean up afterwords?.

6# Are you allowed and/or is it necessary to bring survival-type items like a knife, cordage, compass, etc?.

7# What about bears, mountain lions, poisonous snakes, africanized bees, feral dogs, racoons, rats, hunters, human predators, etc?. Is the trail a pretty safe place to hike (usually)?

8# Packs should always be hung from a tree from what I've read but what about pack/gear theft (ie; while your sleeping). Is this usually a problem?.