PDA

View Full Version : Quilts

astafford
02-19-2013, 17:05
I'm planning a NY - Katahdin hike from the middle of June to August. I would like your opinions on your quilt. Temperature rating, brand, likes, dislikes, suggustions, weight, etc. Thanks!

Rasty
02-19-2013, 17:08
I have a Enlightened Equipment Revelation X 0 degree quilt which is well made and economical. The 30 or 40 would be a great quilt.

barf_jay
02-19-2013, 17:18
Ditto on the Enlightened Equipment Revelation X, mine is a 30 degree bag. Packs small is super light, ratings are very accurate. Another good thing...Made in the USA!

Praha4
02-19-2013, 17:29
I have a MLD Spirit 45 degree synthetic quilt for summer hiking, just used it on the Fla Trail and it worked great down to high 30s at night, wearing a Montbell UL thermawrap jacket, long pants, wool socks, and balacalva. The other nights when temps were in 50s and 60s I only wore a long sleeve shirt under it.

great UL piece of gear

Wise Old Owl
02-19-2013, 17:56
Stormcrow made my quilts, I added a black side to absorb sun after a storm in case it got some wet.

http://www.hammockgear.com/

burrito
02-19-2013, 18:05
wilderness logics 45* wieghs 15oz, great company to deal with, i also have quilts by jacks r better and lieghlo, love my lieghlo winter quilt .
all these companies have been great to do buisiness with and made in usa

SCRUB HIKER
02-19-2013, 18:18
I'm assuming you're a ground-dweller and not a hammock camper? My answer applies to ground-dwellers.

I have a GoLite 3-season quilt (out of stock right now, oddly) and I love it. It's rated to 20 degrees, which I've found accurate. I got it last summer and so far I've used it for everything from warmish Eastern hiking (nighttime lows in the 60s) in Virginia in September to snowshoe-camping at Crater Lake (nighttime temps in the tent 20-25) a few weeks ago. I don't have any negatives to say about it yet.