PDA

View Full Version : Another gear question... THANKS!

Aviator37
02-19-2013, 18:53
I'm leaving early may and ending late august. Some forums convinced me to start below damascus, VA so that I can finish in Maine. My main concerns are weather. I don't believe I'll run into really any cold weather but i've always liked to be better prepared than sorry. I'm debating on buying a thermarest mat to fit into my hammock because i've heard the breeze can catch and give you "cold butt" but with the weather not getting very low then i'm not sure it would be worth it since i have a 15 degree sleeping bag. I have shoes/socks and I typically research everything for a very long time before I buy stuff so any suggestions and tips would be GREATLY appreciated. I've been slowly making this list when ever I find the time to look up weights. I don't have a pack on there because I'm waiting until I get all of my gear picked out before I buy a pack to know how much space I'll need.

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=11271

THANKS IN ADVANCE!!

Datto
02-19-2013, 19:31
Suggestions:

If you end up taking a pair of hiking trousers, don't take the rain pants.

If I were you, I'd start in Damascus, VA and head north from there in early May (that'll make the northbound hike an average of 14.5 miles per calendar day or so to get to Katahdin which is faster than normal speed for most people). Starting in Damascus you'll make friends with the other hikers and if for some reason you get to all the way to Katahdin and decide you want to extend your timetable/hike and finish the AT, you can return to Damascus and head south to Springer Mountain, GA in the autumn. If you're not in great shape right now, I'd start at Waynesboro instead since the beginning of your hike would have you starting out hiking through easier Shenandoah terrain rather than overtop of Mt. Rogers that's just north of Damascus (steep).