PDA

View Full Version : Thru-hike advice?

captjet23
02-23-2013, 14:54
Hi everyone. I am fairly new here. The idea for hiking the AT was just brought up to me recently. Seeing as how I have 7 months with nothing to do, and my father offered to resupply me whenever I need it through mail, I am going to attempt a NoBo through-hike starting in about a month (maybe less).

A bit of background: I have quite a bit of experience with camping and such from my youth, but the real survival skills and such, I'm not so sure about. I am quite fit, if a tad on the thin side. I am quite adaptable, and I think I would do fairly well on The Trail.

The plan: Starting from the southern trailhead, I plan to move fairly fast, as that's just how I do anything. That being said, I will probably take a few more rest days to explore, enjoy scenery, and just relax. I plan on doing yoga most mornings (I am an instructor) and I plan on meditating for at least an hour a day, but I walk quickly enough that it will easily make up for time lost. I would like to "rough it" most of the way. Seeing as how this isn't a whole lot on my wallet, I would like to spend as little money as possible. I am okay with sleeping on the ground or under a lean-to most nights, as I grew up camping like that. I like to enjoy a beer every now and then, but most anything I eat right now is food I make at work or things I cook from the farmers market, so there isn't really any fast food/diner cost. That being said, I don't really know how to pack food for multiple days of hiking. If anyone knows of any good recipe books or anything like that for long hiking trips, that would be excellent. I am an excellent cook, and I am hoping to be able to trade that skill as well as many others for favors and such along the way (I don't know how often that happens, but I love the barter system, and I hope to find others that do as well). I am currently putting together a gear list, but I have no idea what I'm doing in that field, so