PDA

View Full Version : Seeking advice on tents

arrow188
02-24-2013, 09:50
Hello. I was wondering if anyone had some advice about shopping for 1 person tents for a thru-hike. I'm new to backpacking. Any suggestions on tent models/brands would be highly appreciated! I'm looking to spend no more than $200, hopefully quite a bit less. Also, are there any specs I should be particularly interested in? What's a good lightweight weight range, and is it important to have a freestanding tent? Thank you!

poopsy
02-24-2013, 10:48
I like these open ended things. It seems like you have started thinking about specifics. There is no simple answer to this question. Everything is a trade-off. You need a lightweight tent but you also need to figure out what you really want because everything has weight ramifications: Do i need to manage insects, a bug net? How will I manage interior condensation? How many seasons will I be out in and what kind of weather? Will I be hiking with poles? How much interior room do I need? How much privacy? What about a hammock? Once you have these questions straight then I suggest you go to : http://www.tenpoundbackpack.com/gear-lists/tents. This listing has over 600 tents to compare based on your previous answers.

BTW I bought a Lightheart Solo last year on sale for $199. Very pleased. You should also know that I have been living in tents for 55 years for up to 8 months per year in climates ranging form desert to the high arctic. I was a prospector and still am an avid canoist.

Good Luck!

garlic08
02-24-2013, 10:58
Some inexpensive and light hybrid tarptents are available at www.tarptent.com and other similar vendors. I've been using a Contrail for many seasons.

bobp
02-24-2013, 10:59