PDA

View Full Version : Trekking poles are hard to adjust - how to fix?

Owf
02-28-2013, 12:16
(You've been informed/warned: This probably is going to seem like a neophyte question to some of you)

I have a pair of Leki Cressida poles that I've been using for about two to three years now. They're great poles, no complaints, other than them getting rather tough to adjust. I believe it is from the shafts being dirty or dusty and those particles clogging up the insides. But then again, even after I wipe them down, it gets a little easier, but not much.

Would it be okay to lube up trekking poles with oil or something to keep them adjusting smoothly? Or will that just create a mess of its own? :-?

Any other tricks to it?

I have to adjust my poles a lot because I use a trekking pole tent, also, I tend to adjust my poles frequently while hiking depending on the terrain and whether I'm going uphill or downhill. It's getting annoying to have to fight with them every time.

Thanks, guys! :)

Owf
02-28-2013, 12:17
Also note that it's not hard to adjust due to overtight speedlocks, which I thought could have been the case, but I loosened them and it was still hard to adjust.

DeerPath
02-28-2013, 12:54
Pull the shafts apart, wash down inside and out with soapy water, let dry and re assemble. I would not lubricate the shafts because dust, grim, etc. will stick to the lubrication.

Happy Trails

Owf
02-28-2013, 14:48
Yeah, that's what I figured. I washed them and I'm letting them dry right now.. but usually even after this process, they're really hard to adjust. I remember a time where they slid nice and easy...but maybe they're just so worn out that it's always going to be a struggle.

Chuckie V
02-28-2013, 14:57
This doesn't help you now alas, but the 'spin-to-lock' hiking poles are prone to this and other problems, given enough hiking mileage. I've since gone to the poles with an external locking mechanism, to avoid these hassles.