PDA

View Full Version : UL, 15-degree rectangular, synthetic sleeping bag, compressed small: does it exist?

Crusinsusan
03-03-2013, 22:32
Am I dreaming? Under 2lbs?

All I can come up with is a zpack customized to be rectangular and probably at least $400....I just can't do that.

Crusinsusan
03-03-2013, 22:34
Actually, now I see the zpacks are down....so scratch that

Storm
03-03-2013, 23:29
If you find one let me know

hikerboy57
03-03-2013, 23:31
what about a quilt?

Crusinsusan
03-03-2013, 23:44
Yeah storm...I figured.

HB...I'm just learning about those things....reading the 'net now. Could be.

MuddyWaters
03-03-2013, 23:47
No 15F synthetic sleeping bag could be called "ultralight"
You are looking at about 3 lbs, or more, for a tight mummy, and bulky too.

A high end 20F down bag will weigh almost 2lbs, about 29oz for an Ultralite.

Yep, you are dreaming.
Rectangular, you dont really want to carry that.

leaftye
03-04-2013, 01:01
The MLD Spirit 28°F quilt is 21 ounces, or 1.3125 pounds. It's a long way from 28°F to 15°F. Don't forget to add an ounce or three for head gear.

The EnlightenedEquipment Epiphany Apex 20 should do it, and it weighs 30 ounces in regular length and width. It has the same amount of insulation as the 20°F Prodigy, but benefits from the vapor barrier effect thanks to its cuben fiber shell. That will easily give you another 5°F even if the rating doesn't show it.
http://www.enlightenedequipment.com/product/epiphany-apex-20/

Add a 1 ounce Blackrock hat or Goosefeet balaclava and you should still be right at 2 pounds.

Crusinsusan
03-04-2013, 01:52
wow...I've been reading up on the MLD Spirit 28 since you posted Leaf....but it looks like a mummy in pics (I have much to learn...thought a quilt just went over you) ....though the measurements might be generous enough. Certainly better than my hated montbell super stretch burrow bag, which just would not let go of me!

leaftye
03-04-2013, 02:31