PDA

View Full Version : Hiking-noob cyclist going NOBO April 1st, what have I gotten myself into?

BradyCycler
03-13-2013, 21:02
Hello all,

I completed a 144 day, 9,050 mile self-supported bicycle tour last summer/fall, Making a big "C" around the US (NY -> OR -> CA -> FL) and now I'm set on thru-hiking the AT! I'm a late comer, didn't decide to do this until the very end of February, and since I'm a hiking noob I've been spending the last two weeks reading up on everything I can regarding thru-hiking and hiking 5-10 miles trips around town.

I've noticed lots of similarities to bicycle touring but also lots of differences, and I'm very curious how the two trips will relate. On a bicycle you can usually travel 75+ miles/day, ounces aren't as much of a concern, and you usually ride through at least one town a day (if not more), so water & food logistics aren't as big a deal. I am looking forward to getting off the roads though, I've been able to bike the KATY Trail, Great Allegheny Passage, & Erie Canal, all off-road bike paths, and there's just something special to being in the woods.

I've found that most of my cycling camping gear won't cut it, too heavy, so I've been pouring over thru-hike gear lists and reading tons of threads and reviews, so much so my head starts hurting!

So far I've gotten my larger items purchased:

Backpack - ULA Circuit
Tent - TentTarp Notch
Poles - Black Diamond Carbon Cork (GF got them off steep & cheap last year)
Sleeping bag - Mountain Hardwear Extralamina 20 (Re-using from bicycle tour)
Mat - Thermarest Neoair Xlite
Cooking - Caldera Sidewinder System (alcohol stove)

Shoes - Marrell Moab mids w/ Superfeet green insert
- Marrell Barefoot trail runners

Socks - Darn Tough Merino Wool x 2 pair
Water Bag - 4 Liter MSR DromLite
Water Purification - Aquamira
Gaiters - eVENT Shortie Gaiters, Dirty Girl Gaiters
Light - Zebra Light H51 Headlamp
Gloves - North Face Winter Runner's Gloves
Underwear - Exofficio