PDA

View Full Version : TVP Questions

Ranger29
03-18-2013, 09:36
I'm just getting into dehydrating meals for the trail - I'm planning on more trail time this year, and the MH stuff was quickly becoming unpalatable. So far, I'm pleased with the results, and have been going through the usual trial and error process to see what works and which recipes translate well. My question is regarding how to use TVP. I picked some up to try out, but I'm not sure if you are supposed to add it during the cooking process, or during rehydration. Also, what would be an approximate appropriate amount to use in an average size portion of say, soups or stews? Thanks!

treesloth
03-18-2013, 10:42
While you are waiting on ideas here, try Googling "TVP recipes for backpacking". A crapload of hits returned. :)

FarmerChef
03-18-2013, 10:47
Best way to find out is to experiment. In my recipes I use dehydrated ground beef, ground pork and ground turkey/chicken. I'm feeding 5 (2 adults and 3 children) so I use 1 Cup of dried meat for each recipe. Say it's hamburger helper - I would use 2 boxes of macaroni and cheese, olive oil, powdered milk, dried onions, garlic powder and 1 cup of dried ground hamburger. TVP should be roughly equivalent.

BigRing
03-18-2013, 19:51
If you dehydrate cooked lean ground beef, drain the meatafter cooking and stir in some seasoned bread crumbs. The bread crumbs help reconstitute the meat and it will be less mushy.

gunner76
03-18-2013, 20:50
Check out the Hungry Hammock Camper by Bablefish5 for DIY meals

Ranger29
03-20-2013, 21:29
O.K., thanks for the responses - some good information!

Dogwood
03-20-2013, 22:30