PDA

View Full Version : Cold sleeper

2014hopeful
03-18-2013, 16:48
I'd like to attempt a thru hike in the spring of 2014. I have plenty of gear (too much from what I've been reading) but will need to make some purchases prior to the trip.

I currently own the MSR 2p Hubba Hubba which is nearly 5 lbs with everything. Since I am a relatively small female with pre-existing lower back problems, I'd like to go as lightweight as possible. Also considering that I work in the outdoor education field, I do not have a whole lot of expendable cash. The other piece of gear that I own for sleeping is a 30* Eureka Silver City bag. (I lost my 0* to a lucky camper.)

There are many sleeping options, but I am drawn toward the Hennessy Hammock Expedition. However, I am a cold sleeper. In 18* weather, I slept somewhat uncomfortably in said Hubba Hubba in a 0* bag with a set of long johns. I slept very comfortably in 27* weather in a lean-to with the 0* bag, a set of long johns, a fleece jacket, a hat, and several articles of clothing around my feet and hips.

I have a torso length self inflatable Thermarest (and not the ultralight one).

Underquilts are over $200 and I'd rather just use the bag I have.

I have never hiked on the AT but I have a feeling I will shy away from shelters and prefer stealth camping (another reason I am drawn to the hammock).

Again, I have moderate to severe lower back pain on occasion from a previous injury.

That's the background. Here are my questions:

A) Can I trust that a sleeping bag liner promising an extra 20* added to my 30* bag will keep my comfortable in Georgia and Maine (only $50) in a hammock?
B) There are full-length underquilt shells for sale at underquilts.com (http://underquilts.com/shop/) for $65--does anyone have experience buying one and stuffing it with an old comforter down or something?