PDA

View Full Version : Keep bouncing around on the big four

faxanadu
03-21-2013, 02:23
Start date: 2nd week of April

#1. I picked up a Copper Spur 2 today. Part of my thinking is that for $50 extra i get a 2 person tent and i have a few friends and family that have discussed hiking with me for a week or more. However, sitting at home i'm thinking, "To hell with them and bang for my buck" i'm gonna take it back and get a Copper Spur 1. The weight difference is about 10oz.

#2. I have a 20 degree REI 650 fill down sleeping bag. I used it on a previous trip in Arizona and the temperatures got down to 15-20 degrees. It worked well. However, some of those 800 fill down quilts are looking nice and light.

#3. I was going to get a NeoAir XLite but i can't decide on whether to go with the 8oz tiny one or the largest one at 16oz. I'm 6'1 and the idea of body parts possibly falling off the side i think would be annoying. BUT, 8oz is 8oz and i suppose i could rest my feet on my pack or something.

Right now if i go full luxury on my big four it's going to put me at 8.8 lbs

You could say the lighter is better bug has bit me so i'm considering chopping that weight down to 6-7 lbs. I'm just not sure if i'm going to regret it in the long run or grow accustom to it.

Thoughts on these things and advice would definitely help.

Donde
03-21-2013, 02:31
Dude you're fine. If during and after you wanna get lighter, you will, let it come. Remember you will make it or not based on you, not 2lbs +/-.

faxanadu
03-21-2013, 02:57
I think at the least i should get the one man tent. Would save me 11oz, still spacious, and is really only a bonus for someone else that "might" join me for a bit.

Donde
03-21-2013, 03:20
That makes good sense, go with it.

bubonicplay
03-21-2013, 03:44
Do research. Take that heavy tent back and get something lightweight. For the same price get a zpacks hexamid which will weigh about 10oz total for full protection.

poopsy
03-21-2013, 06:13