PDA

View Full Version : gear list for spring backpacking from a newbie

slovakiasteph
03-22-2013, 19:11
I’m a very new beginner working on a gear list… I’ve been backpacking one whole night, but am planning another trip at the end of March and a 3-6 day trip on the AT at the end of May. I’ll have to carry all my own gear. In Indiana, it could still be quite cold at the end of March.

I don’t want to spend a lot of money on new supplies, but am looking for ways to pare this down a bit. My clothes seem very heavy, but I’m not sure how I can get along with less, especially in March/May in the mountains. I will have a puffy to wear in camp in March-- will I need to bring that on the AT in late May? I figured I could layer my fleece with my rain jacket (although I'm not yet sure if I want to use a poncho or rain jacket). I might not take my fleece hat on the AT? My fleece jacket has a hood.

I’m trying to find out if I could use something else as a lid for my cookpot to save a few ounces besides the lid that came with it (that can also double as a smaller pot). I also might not take my mug, but… well, not sure just how light I want to go, and it does fit perfectly inside my cookpot. I need to be able to drink my morning tea without burning my lips. :) I’m sure some of knowing what I can toss will come with experience.

There are a few items whose weight I don’t know, so I left those blank…and I can’t find my Aquamira, so couldn’t weigh it.

Okay, enough yakking and on to the list. Did I forget anything?

THE BIG FOUR

Lightheart duo

Go lite jam L

sleeping bag (kelty 20 cosmic down)

therma rest z-lite

KITCHEN

stove and fuel (pocket rocket, canister)

Pot (wal-mart find- holds 32 oz)

Spoon (LMF spork)

bandana

scrubber

water bottle(s) (Gatorade)

Mug?

Bic mini lighter

platypus bladder

Aquamira

total:

CLOTHES

1 t-shirt

1 pr shorts

fleece

1 set underwear

1 pr socks

rain jacket

hat (rain)

long underwear

Fleece hat

LIBRARY

Book?

compass