PDA

View Full Version : PCT Section Hike

rulf
03-26-2013, 15:20
Hey guys,

I already opened up a topic on section-hiking the AT, but a friend recommended me the PCT so I'm leaning more towards it now...

So maybe I can get a little bit of advice from the veterans.

I'm a total beginner, I never truly hiked so I'm unsure which section of the trail would be advisable for three months from mid june to mid august. I don't plan on doing mail drops since I'm from Germany and I don't really know how it all works, so I'll rely on the food I can buy in towns. I'm just a little unsure how easy or hard it is to pack food for 5-7 days, which seems to be a regular interval on the PCT. Oh, and I also don't know how much distance I can make as someone who hasn't hiked before, so I don't really know how far I can get in three months and how I'll fit that to my flight back to Germany (that's a question I gotta answer for myself, I guess). Anyway... still a lot of open questions... and I haven't even compiled an affordable gear list and cared for a credit card to buy food in towns etc.

If any of you have some comments or advice on one or the other points, I'd be really glad!

All the best

Dogwood
03-26-2013, 16:31
IMO, you are asking the right questions. Thank you. I suspect you'll be OK on your first 3 month hiking adventure.

If coming from Germany, I wouldn't miss the Sierras on the PCT. Also thought Crater Lake NP was cool although you get all/most of Crater Lake in one AMAZING short term experience. Eagle Creek alternate is rather cool too as well as the miles just before dropping down to it. Hey, how many times do you get to hike BEHIND a waterfall. Goat Rocks Wilderness is awesome too. You'll get differnt answers though because different people have different tastes but those are some of the most often mentioned PCT highlights that hikers enjoy.