PDA

View Full Version : trying to stay warm

mdj05f
03-29-2013, 09:53
I have a 45 degree bag and I'm in a hammock. I'm purchasing a sleeping pad for insulation and looking at bag liners, I don't want to buy a new sleeping bag. What materials will be the warmest? I've been looking at silk and fleece liners, although I assume the silk will take up less space. I found this: Gizzly Soft-As-Silk Microfiber
Bag/Bed Liner
Any idea if this will be enough?

thanks!

Snowleopard
03-29-2013, 14:06
That liner will keep your bag clean and, maybe, add a few degrees to your bag rating. It only weighs 6.1 oz, so it's basically a single layer of fabric and won't add much warmth. The temp ratings for liners are outrageously inaccurate. Also, most sleeping bags have very optimistic ratings, so your 45 degree sleeping bag might be good for 45 or might be good for only for 55F. The best brands of sleeping bag are rated accurately but those are expensive -- Feathered Friends, Western Mountaineering, and a few others. What I do for guessing the rating of a sleeping bag is to compare it to a Feathered Friends bag of comparable fabric, down specs and amount of down.

There is an accurate rating system, the EN rating, explained at REI: http://www.rei.com/learn/expert-advice/sleeping-bag-backpacking.html

Slo-go'en
03-29-2013, 16:23
An important piece of information which is missing is the time of year and place you plan on using this. That will greatly determine what you need. If your going to be in North Calolina in the early spring, like April and into May or up in New England in the fall, you'll want to be comfortable down to at least 30 degrees and 20 would be better.

If your out in the middle of summer, a 45 bag with little insulation under you will be fine.

Slo-go'en
03-29-2013, 16:37