PDA

View Full Version : Section hike New England Aug-Sept

Britgirl
03-30-2013, 08:38
Hi all,

Newbie here!

I want to come to the states from the UK this summer to do a section of the Appalachian trail in early/mid August to early September.
I was thinking of taking the train from New York to the NY trail station, and then hiking up to Vermont.

My main concern is - will there be people around if I do this section? I guess all the thru hikers will have passed by by then? I am female and will be 22, so it would be nice to have plenty of company in shelters/for hitch-hiking. (If not, would it be better to do a different section?)

A few more (!):

Is it an alright time to do this section? I'm sure it would be better to do it Southbound, but not sure that's practical for transport for me.

What are the best spots to leave the trail by public transport through Vermont/beginning of New Hampshire?

Should I bring a mosquito net for this area/time?

I would really appreciate any help on any of these. Thank you for your time!

coach lou
03-30-2013, 08:50
Train right to the AT stop in Pawling, NY. Bus back to NYC from Hanover, NH. You be in a large crowd of folks, thrus, sections weekenders, and day hikers. You have picked the finast time to walk in New England.:welcome

Cookerhiker
03-30-2013, 16:48
The later in August you can start, the less mosquitoes you will encounter.

Chaco Taco
03-30-2013, 16:48
Hi all,

Newbie here!

I want to come to the states from the UK this summer to do a section of the Appalachian trail in early/mid August to early September.
I was thinking of taking the train from New York to the NY trail station, and then hiking up to Vermont.

My main concern is - will there be people around if I do this section? I guess all the thru hikers will have passed by by then? I am female and will be 22, so it would be nice to have plenty of company in shelters/for hitch-hiking. (If not, would it be better to do a different section?)

A few more (!):