PDA

View Full Version : Fears you have, fears you have overcame while on the AT

Spirit Bear
04-09-2013, 11:40
I am new to theAT community and hiking as well. Only a year under my belt and about 100 totalmiles of hiking on the AT, all weekend hiking and one 5 day section hike.

With that said I wanted to share my fears and the fears I have overcame sincehiking. Also, I would like to hear from you all on what your fears are, whatfears you have overcame while hiking.

Mycurrent fears I have yet to overcome.

Getting Lyme disease. (Had a friend get it a few years ago walking at his localpark in the woods, found a tick removed it and 3 months later diagnosed with Lymedisease, he hasn’t been the same since he says)

Hyperthermia-(Just a general fear I have of being soaking wet and cold)

Stepping on a Rattlesnake or copperhead (Nearly stepped on a copperhead on agravel road walking my dog 10 years ago, freaked me out and I have had a fear eversince.)

Breaking an ankle or slipping and falling off a cliff (I slipped and fell up onblood mtn after a heavy rain, fell about 8 feet down the side of a rock face,freaked me out, I have a fear of that now, before it never occurred to me)

FearsI have overcame.
Bears-I have encountered 6 bears over the course of 12 months of hiking the GAsection of the AT, my last encounter I overcame the fear, I was aloneencountered him at sunset, then went straight to bed in my hammock didn’t thinkof it again.

Alone- People, some people are afraid of being alone on the trail, especiallyat night. I was afraid at first but after my first 5 or 6 nights I learned toembrace it. Now when people ask about fears I always refer to this one.

yaduck9
04-09-2013, 12:53
Stepping on a Rattlesnake or copperhead (Nearly stepped on a copperhead on agravel road walking my dog 10 years ago, freaked me out and I have had a fear ever since.)