PDA

View Full Version : re: summer bag seeking reccomendations and feedback

DavidNH
07-02-2005, 22:53
Hello,

One of the bags that has caught my eye during my internet research is the Mountain Hardwear Phantom 45. This bag is 800 fill down and is rated to 45 degrees and long size weighs like 1.3 pounds or so. Zipper is 3/4 length.

What do you think of this bag? If you have used it how did you like it?

Also..If I have my 10 degree FF Raven bag for the more wintery portions and switch it out with a 45 degree bag for the warmer portions (like between Perrisburg, VA and Glencliffe, NH would I be all set bag wise for NB AT thru hike (that starts in late march?

NHHIker

restless
07-02-2005, 23:00
NHHiker,
I tried the Phantom 32 and found it to be sorely lacking in the durability department. Lots of down seepage and after a few uses it just didnt seem to loft back up.The shell seemed real thin compared to most and was constantly dealing with a damp bag. If I can make a suggestion--give Winton a call at Neels Gap-706-745-6095 and try out the Mountain Crossings Frog Sac. It's synthetic, weighs about 1.75lbs and is pretty much bomber. I've used it for a couple of seasons and have found it to be an ideal summer bag. He has it rated to 40 but I am a warm sleeper and have been comfortable a few degrees below. Get near the 32 degree mark though and I want something more substantial. The price isnt bad either. I think he still charges around 100 for a short and 110 for a long. That bag saved my butt a few times last year on atrek through the Blacks of NC. Just an idea.

TakeABreak
07-03-2005, 07:36
First let me say I am also a warm sleeper, I am warm at night when most are cold. I tired a Western Mountaineering 40 degree, for a week beginning memorial day weekend in 2001, starting at dalton, mass, it was wet and chilly the whole I week and I was cold every night, I sent for 15 degree bag ( a Marmot, I might add) and it warmed up immediately.