PDA

View Full Version : Tarptent Rainbow?

joeboxer
04-15-2013, 00:22
Anyone have any experience with the Tarptent Rainbow? I've been looking at shelters for about two weeks now, I'm 6'4 so a bit limited in my selection... I noticed the rainbow is 88in long which is longer than most of the 1p tarptents. Whaddyall think?

Siestita
04-15-2013, 03:18
I'm 5'10 and fit fine into my Tarptent Rainbow. Perhaps for you, though, an even longer Tarptent would be better, if Henry makes one.

When you raise the sides and ends of a Tarptent's floor it reduces the interior size slightly. Also, once while camping in the open during a windy mountain storm, some sideways driven rain entered one of the ends of my Rainbow, coming through the mesh right above ground level, dampening the foot of my sleeping bag. A few more inches of tent length (or more alertness during the night on my part) might have prevented that from happening.

I've been using my Rainbow for several years now and love it. I willingly accept its limitations to obtain great weight savings. I considered buying the two person model but bypassed that one because I often camp in locations where finding clear, flat locations is challenging. So, I opted for the one person Rainbow to obtain its narrower width. I believe however, that descriptions of the Rainbow as a "one and one-half person" shelter, are a tad optimistic. It's a good one person shelter.

bigcranky
04-15-2013, 08:30
You might look at the Moment, too, as it is nice and long inside. I'm just over 6' with a Long bag and don't touch either end. It's so fast to set up and has so much room inside for a solo tent - love it.

Not sure how long the Notch is, but if you use trekking poles you might look at that one, as well.

Doughnut
04-15-2013, 08:46