PDA

View Full Version : Section Hiker Training

dmperkins74
04-19-2013, 06:34
Hey fellow section hikers,

I do short sections (mostly day hikes... check out my journal at www.gdbdp.com/at (http://www.gdbdp.com/at)) so I never get my "hiking legs". Every hill pretty much sucks. I have a treadmill that gets sporadic usage (I have a backpack full of books and I walk on my treadmill at full incline for 40 minutes or so carrying an 8 lb weight in each hand) but I really could be more faithful to it. I was wondering what sort of conditioning folks on here do between section hikes?

Dan P (alphaPig)

fredmugs
04-19-2013, 07:15
After blowing out my knee in 2005 I started riding an exercise bike for rehab. As I got stronger on the bike my knees also got stronger. I went form knee braces to nothing. I went from a 15 mile day kicking my @$$ to 20 miles days no problem. I never put on a pack until I hit the trail. I don't subscribe to the theory that the only way to train for hiking is by hiking. I ride an exercise bike while watching a sporting event and listening to the hardest fastest music I can. My MP3 player is my performing enhancing drug.

keepinitsimple
04-19-2013, 08:42
I do almost no conditioning physically. I prepare mentally. The system has worked for me well. I am up to 20 plus miles in a day. I am nothing special. 42, balding, and 20 lbs overweight. I smoke cigarettes, high cholesterol, but perfect blood pressure. I have a mind to get back into some kind of shape, and I may. My point is you really dont need to do anything in my opinion. it would help, I remember. I just leave the day following a 20 mile hike lightly scheduled, so I can relax, drink coffee, and savor the pain/memories.

Stogie88
04-19-2013, 09:07