PDA

View Full Version : Need input in final tent & sleeping bag decisions!

summitsandskies
04-21-2013, 14:39
Hey y'all! I'm doing a flip-flop thru starting the first week of June (NOBO Harpers Ferry-Katahdin/SOBO Harpers Ferry-Springer) and I'm trying to finalize my sleeping gear decisions. I'm a college student on a budget, so I'm trying to get the best quality I can afford on my budget. Also planning to tent about 1/2-2/3 of the time and sleep in the shelters the rest of the time. Here's what I'm considering:

TENTS
-Sierra Designs Lightyear 1 ($149-189, 2 lb 11 oz)
-Lightheart Solo ($245, 1 lb 11 oz)
-Tarptent Moment DW ($269, 2 lb 2 oz)
-MSR Hubba ($279, 2 lb 13 oz)

SLEEPING BAGS/QUILTS
-ULA 20 degree down sleeping bag ($185, 2 lb 9.5 oz)
-EnLIGHTened Equipment RelevationX 20 degree (~$210, ~2 lb 5 oz)

If anyone has another suggestions, my budget is in the $250 range for the tent and in the $200 range for the a sleeping bag/quilt, and I'd like both for be under 3 lbs.

For people who have experience with these products, how do they compare for quality standing up on the trail and what is your input? Thanks. :)

macdaddy
04-21-2013, 15:05
Bag-Mountain Hardware Down Flip, 1lb-13oz, shopped Moosejaw pricematched it for 136.95
Tent-Big Agnes Scout 2, 1lb-10oz, paid the Moosejaw list 279.95 plus the footprint 59.95. Foot print stays in an outside pocket of my pack with a rope in case I need a place to get out of the rain quickly. Total weight 3lbs-10 oz.

bigcranky
04-21-2013, 15:18
Tent: if I were buying a new solo tent I would get the Notch from Tarptent. It's a little cheaper than the Moment and a lot lighter (but only if you use trekking poles.) I have an original Moment and like it, but the Notch has two doors, two vestibules, and saves the weight of the pole.

Bag: I'd probably get the bag for shelter sleeping. The quilt is nicer but I'd rather not use a quilt in a shelter.

summitsandskies
04-21-2013, 16:19