PDA

View Full Version : Adverse weather on the trail

neonshaw
05-06-2013, 22:38
I have hiked about 450 miles of the trail so far (mainly 50-70 mile sections), so I have some experience, but the bad weather in the east the past 4-5 days - wet, cold, incessant rain - got me thinking: How do you thru hiker types deal with it?

How do you keep you sleeping bag dry? Do you stay in your tent or shelter for more than a day or 2 waiting for it to pass or do you get up everyday regardless and trudge onward? This type of weather (high 40's/ low 50's) can be dangerous as you know. There has to be a lot of miserable people right now in the so. mountains

I think about the thru hiker when a bad weather system consumes the Appalachains for a long period of time.

hikerboy57
05-06-2013, 22:46
I have hiked about 450 miles of the trail so far (mainly 50-70 mile sections), so I have some experience, but the bad weather in the east the past 4-5 days - wet, cold, incessant rain - got me thinking: How do you thru hiker types deal with it?

How do you keep you sleeping bag dry? Do you stay in your tent or shelter for more than a day or 2 waiting for it to pass or do you get up everyday regardless and trudge onward? This type of weather (high 40's/ low 50's) can be dangerous as you know. There has to be a lot of miserable people right now in the so. mountains

I think about the thru hiker when a bad weather system consumes the Appalachains for a long period of time.the more you're out in it, the easier it gets.you dont go out if its really really bad, but i hiked in rain, snow, freezing rain ,etc.i took neros or zeros if it was really really bad out. but when you do go out, you realize you can deal with it,you can get through the day, get into your bag and expect a better tomorrow or maybe the day after?
either way, setting up your wet tent in the rain always sucks.
but you've gotta love the suck

hikerboy57
05-06-2013, 22:47