PDA

View Full Version : Mountain Lions?

tolkien_madness
05-11-2013, 00:52
Hey all. I'm new to the cite and planning a CT thru hike starting late this June. I've been wandering through the CT Forum and haven't found any info on the mountain lion activity surrounding the trail. I'm going to be solo hiking (not too many people willing to take six weeks out of their life to go backpacking;)), so I figured it would be worth checking up on. So: any stories? Close encounters?

fiddlehead
05-11-2013, 04:56
Not on the Colorado trail, although I saw 2 on the PCT thru the years.
Only one was close.
I understand they have never attacked anyone with a pack on. They are not sure what that pack means I guess.
They only attack when cornered or are assured of victory (before the fight) apparently.
Consider yourself lucky if you see one.
Have fun on your hike. It's a nice trail.

Dogwood
05-11-2013, 12:18
Hey all. I'm new to the cite and planning a CT thru hike starting late this June. I've been wandering through the CT Forum and haven't found any info on the mountain lion activity surrounding the trail. I'm going to be solo hiking (not too many people willing to take six weeks out of their life to go backpacking;)), so I figured it would be worth checking up on. So: any stories? Close encounters?

"....and haven't found any info on the mountain lion activity surrounding the trail."