PDA

View Full Version : Teaching LNT

dmath010
05-13-2013, 11:19
I'm an 8th grade science teacher and we will have a little wiggle room in curriculum as the end of the year approaches. My students do a lot of front country camping, fishing, and hunting so I wanted to teach a mini unit on LNT. I'm trainer certified and all of my students will relieve an awareness certificate upon completion.

Since budgets are so tight, we can't actually get out of the classroom. One thing I want to incorporate is having the kids watch a "survival show" to identify practices an lack thereof of the 7 principles. Does anyone have a good idea of what to watch? Keep in mind my kids are 13/14 and I work at a school with conservative leadership. Ie no cursing, nudity, or pee-drinking.

Any other tips and tricks would be very much appreciated. Thanks

FarmerChef
05-13-2013, 11:31
For 8th graders (not that I'm an expert) they are just beginning their understanding of abstract thought, something my Tiger and Wolf cub scouts are almost incapable of. For them, LNT is very practical: do this, don't do that. See over there? That's not LNT. Stay on the path. Don't cut switchbacks. But teaching them in the classroom is almost futile as it's quickly forgotten once out on the trail, sidewalk, park, etc.