PDA

View Full Version : Underpad Length

Nar Nar
05-16-2013, 13:30
I'm totally new to hanging and my HH Expedition Asym is supposed to be in the mail waiting for me today when I get home. I tried posting this on Hammockforums and didn't get much of a response, probably because it is an obviously question to those who are experienced with hammocks, but how long does your sleeping pad have to be? I'm using a CCF one but I don't want to carry the bulk and weight of it if I don't have to, I was thinking of maybe cutting it a little bit below the waist or something. Will this suffice, or do you really need the entire pad for insolation? I will only be going in the summer and I have a 30 degree synthetic bag. Thanks guys! :rolleyes:

bigcranky
05-16-2013, 14:01
For summer use, my CCF pad is long enough to go from my neck to the middle of my thighs. That works just fine in temps down around 50 or so, and I've had it to freezing though it wasn't comfortable.

I've used a Z-lite, a Ridgerest, both 3/4 length, and a Walmart blue foam pad cut down to torso length. All of them work fine, though the Walmart pad is 24 inches wide and wraps around my shoulders better. I just bought a 1/8-inch CCF pad from Jacks r Better and might try that this year.

patman25
05-16-2013, 14:15
I like having a full length pad under me in my hammock, more of a personal preference than anything. I use a Therma Rest self inflatable pad. I'm thinking about swapping to a 3/8 CCF pad though and trying it out.

Nar Nar
05-16-2013, 19:04
So I just tried my hammock out for the first time, I cut it to about knee length. How the hell do you get your pad to sit flat and not get all crumpled up underneath you? It was really a PITA getting in that thing and I could never lay correctly, I was always off to the side of it or had part of it crumpled up or folded underneath me.

Trebor66
05-16-2013, 21:42