PDA

View Full Version : Looking to replace a ULA Circuit

English Stu
05-24-2013, 10:06
I think at my weights the ULA is a bit of overkill. Is there anything similar but lighter. I would like a few ideas to kick around.

I have a base weight of about 12lb which can increase with consumables to near 20lb.I am very pleased with the Circuit which I bought mainly to carry a bear barrel on the JMT, instead of my Go lite Breeze to which I fitted a hip belt.

I like and use the hip belt pockets so would want them and I prefer the back stays and foam built in. I have looked at the Ohm but not sure it is worth the hassle/cost to change to that, although I am sure my gear would fit in it.

CenAZwalker
05-24-2013, 11:20
Have you checked out the Gossamer Gear Gorilla (on sale right now!)? I've been using one for about 7 months for trips when I have to carry large amounts of water. The OHM looks like a great pack though, I've been wanting to try one out for a while but can't justify since the Gorilla fills my "framed" pack needs.

bigcranky
05-24-2013, 11:35
I liked my original Ohm, and it would be fine for your weight total. I'm not sure whether the new Ohm 2.0 is worth the weight difference, though I expect the hip belt would be more comfortable than the original.

Maybe a CDT?

swjohnsey
05-24-2013, 22:11
Something to consider, the hip belt from your Circuit works with the Ohm 2.0. You can buy just the pack to save a bit of money.

DeerPath
05-25-2013, 13:12
I think at my weights the ULA is a bit of overkill. Is there anything similar but lighter. I would like a few ideas to kick around.

I have a base weight of about 12lb which can increase with consumables to near 20lb.I am very pleased with the Circuit which I bought mainly to carry a bear barrel on the JMT, instead of my Go lite Breeze to which I fitted a hip belt.