PDA

View Full Version : Hips killing me! What sleeping pad?

slbirdnerd
05-25-2013, 19:28
Help! I'm a noob, backpacked over the weekend and slept on my Thermarest SoLite and my hips killed me after about 20 minutes laying on either side. I'm a side sleeper. My hips don't bother me in general. I don't really want to spend the money for something like a NeoAir plus I don't want it in my pack, or losing air during the night. I was trialing my son during the day and he was busting butt, too fast really, could I just need to slow down, do I need a different pad, what can I do? Got my first section on the AT coming up and I want to be as comfortable as possible. Thank you!!!

BobTheBuilder
05-25-2013, 19:39
I have had similar problems. I tried the 2.5" Big Agnes Air Core, which solved the hip pain problem, but I couldn't trust it to hold air after it failed me on one trip. Now I am a hammock camper and have no hip pain at all. It was a big investment, but I get a lot better sleep now.

bigcranky
05-25-2013, 19:41
That's a solid closed cell foam pad, right? Yeah, I used one years ago (and still sometimes in my hammock) but they are not at all comfortable for me on the ground. Minimum for me is a Thermarest Prolite or Prolite PLus. The Neoair gets good reviews, though I haven't used one.

Basically you need something that inflates. Hiking too fast isn't fun either, but it's a different problem :) Good luck.

Alligator
05-25-2013, 21:44
I moved up from a Prolite to Neoair. I sleep on my side sometimes, not all night. The Neoair fixed the hip problem. I would recommend anything over an inch thick.

Dogwood
05-25-2013, 22:17
I moved up from a Prolite to Neoair. I sleep on my side sometimes, not all night. The Neoair fixed the hip problem. I would recommend anything over an inch thick.