PDA

View Full Version : May need a new method to cook

TurboPants
05-28-2013, 16:56
Just did a 3 day camping trip and used it as an opportunity to refine my cooking system. I'll start by stating I'm a newb so this could be user error. I built a pepsi can stove and it works just swell. But I had some problems! It was gusty and it blew my wind screen into the stove, which tipped it sideways causing a small fire on picnic table. For that reason I'm a bit concerned carrying it as my go-to cooking method.

All that said, I just want to be able to carry one cook meal for each night and not necessarily have to rely on building a fire in the rain. I carry fire steel for survival purposes but I'm thinking a propane can system may be better for me. Because the canisters have a solid flat base and are sturdier. For those who have done long hikes, can you give me input on whether to find a way to prevent the super light stove from getting blown around, or pros/cons for going with small propane canisters? What I see immediately is you can't tell how much fuel is left in the propane cans, and the aluminum stove + can weight a few oz more. I could live with that if it means I'm not on the news for burning the Smokys or Shenandoah to the ground. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

swjohnsey
05-28-2013, 17:16
Use an alcohol stoves that supports the pot like Zelphs SuperVenom or the White Box stove.

Rocket Jones
05-28-2013, 19:08
Find better wind protection (not talking about your windscreen). I seldom use my stove up on a platform like a picnic table. Also, make another stove and put some fiberglass insulation inside it to keep the fuel from sloshing out if it does tip.

Bronk
05-29-2013, 03:08
Use an alcohol stoves that supports the pot like Zelphs SuperVenom or the White Box stove.

The fancy feast stove fits this category also.

daddytwosticks
05-29-2013, 07:11