PDA

View Full Version : thru Hiking the AT- few questions

cincykid
05-29-2013, 10:09
So I am planning my thru-hike for 2014, I have a few questions, any help/tips would be greatly appreciated. Sorry I am new to Whiteblaze.net so if these subject have been covered bare with me. First off, What is the best time to start the hike? I don't want to get all the way to Maine and not be able to finish due to weather. My 2nd question is campfires, I see a lot of hikers using the portable stoves and such. But I wanted to go without and use a camp fire is this possible? And would I just be able to set up camp anywhere along the trail get my fire going for my meals? This is all I have at the moment, I will update if anything else comes to mind. Thank you and Happy hiking!

RED-DOG
05-29-2013, 10:54
On all three of my Thru-hikes i started in mid-Feb, the best time is Mid-March to Mid-April.
Camp Fires are possible if you don't mind spending a few minutes looking for wood and in some area's Fires are not permitted so check your trail guide for camp fire regulations, and always use established fire rings, "Stoves are just easier and faster".
Only at Designated sites, unless you know how to STEALTH camp and always follow L.N.T practices.
And :welcome to WB, Good luck and enjoy.

Dogwood
05-29-2013, 12:20
One thing that might be helpful in life in general and when hiking the AT is to get less BEST focused. What's BEST is VERY OFTEN relative and specific to individual situations. It's what can happen in a world(and American culture) that is so accustomed to seeing things through superlatives. Think of words that end in est - fastest, largest, wealthiest, etc. Even BEST.

Next, in your planning stages consider getting the AT Thru-Hker's Companion ASAP(lots of IMO NEEDED info in there), reading through the articles here on WB under the HOME/ARTICLES tab on the tool bar, and possibly reading through a few trail journals.