PDA

View Full Version : Clothing for GA section in a week?

slbirdnerd
05-30-2013, 16:10
I have whittled and whittled, and my only gear question left is what clothes to take for a GA section hike in a week? Will be out 9 days into mid-June. Including what I'm wearing I have: 2 wicking tees, 2 lightweight convertible pants, 1 LS wicking sun shirt (not warm), 1 lightweight quarter zip fleece, 3 smartwool socks, 3 undies, 2 bras, 1 set lightweight smartwool long johns, 1 Marmot precip jacket, 1 Tyvek pants, Seattle sombrero brimmed rain hat. This seems like too much. I have a 25 degree down bag with a liner; is it likely I need the base layer for sleeping? Thanks!

05-30-2013, 16:21
2 wicking tees,
1 lightweight convertible pants,
1 lightweight quarter zip fleece,
3 smartwool socks, 3 undies, 2 bras,,
1 Marmot precip jacket, ,
Seattle sombrero brimmed rain hat.
25 degree down bag May be a bit much, I just switched to a 40 in Virginia
You may want a bug head net, I like them wore over a ball cap just to keep the knatts out of my face/ears
I cut some from your list. Just my 2 cent

flemdawg1
05-30-2013, 17:49
2 wicking tees,
2 lightweight convertible pants,
1 LS wicking sun shirt (not warm),
1 lightweight quarter zip fleece,
3 smartwool socks,
3 undies,
2 bras,
1 set lightweight smartwool long johns,
1 Marmot precip jacket,
1 Tyvek pants,
Seattle sombrero brimmed rain hat.

Lose the fleece or the long johns, also ditch the tyvek pants

Coldest worst case is low 40s a ss tee, ls sun shirt, fleece, and precip should be able to keep you warm. I also carry a beanie year round.

Chris10
05-30-2013, 21:36
I know you've got to be excited! Send me your blog post address again, so I can read about your adventures! We'll be following about two week behind you, so Ill be looking for you in the registers as well. As for the list, I'm hoping you won't need the long johns or Tyveck pants and agree with the post about the bug head net!

DLP
05-30-2013, 22:38