PDA

View Full Version : North from Harper's Ferry

Aussy1
06-02-2013, 23:21
So, I'm relatively new to backpacking, with about a year of experience. I've been on 10+ trips, but nothing longer than 3 days. Last summer I completed two nearly 20 mile days in a row, but I seem to have a much better time limiting my days to around 10 miles. I think I'd enjoy spending several months on the trail, but I would of course have to spend at least several weeks hiking before I get too serious about it. Assuming that goes well, I'm having a hard time tuning in my expectations. Am I being too ambitious to think it'd be awesome to hike from Harper's Ferry (I live nearby) to the northern terminus of the trail? I'd be traveling through terrain I've never encountered before, but that's why that's what excites me. I want a challenge, but I also don't want to bite off more than I can chew. Likewise, I'd be hiking through unfamiliar climates. From what I've read, Maine has crazy bugs in June/July, and gets quite cold by mid fall. In Vermont, mud season, in addition to the bugs, should end by June, right? Are there any other climate conditions I should consider? Would mid June to mid July be the time to start? I appreciate any thoughts.

Aussy1
06-02-2013, 23:36
I suppose I should express my thoughts and question more directly. A south bound trip seems much less intimidating, but from the comfort of my apartment, less fulfilling. Based on your experience, would the extra stress of the more difficult hike result in a more fulfilling trip, or would I be better off lowering my aim? I'm sure a south bound trip would be an incredible experience and provide ample opportunity to test my limits. Am I mistaken in my assumption that a north bound hike would be significantly more difficult? Would the relatively easy trail early on be enough preparation, both mentally and physically, to condition me for the rougher sections?