PDA

View Full Version : Bug bivy + tarp? Questions from a newb

Krista
06-03-2013, 17:01
Hi WhiteBlaze!
I’m a newb to long distance backpacking but I am an endurance athlete and I have plenty of experience living in tents for months at a time :p. My plan is to start at Harper’s Ferry on July 1st and hike north until the beginning of Sept. I have 101 questions but my 1st concern is shelter. Keep in mind that my primary concern is $$. As much as light-weight & comfortable would be lovely, I’m brokelicious. :p
Shelter Plan: OR Bug Bivy + tarp. I was told that I could go for a $3 8x10 blue tarp from the Dollar Store. I was told it’s pretty light and just as functional as anything else. Is this true???? Wouldn’t it be hard to pack tightly?
I’d like to spend under $100 on shelter. I can get an OR bug bivy for around $30 used.

Other Qs:
1. Do I need camp shoes? I was planning to bring Old Navy flip flops. My father offered to buy Chacos which are comfy sandals I could use for hiking too. They seem too heavy and bulky to me.
2. My old, nylon raincoat is getting a bit leaky but it’s still functional. Not a big deal if I’m hiking in the summer, right?
3. What sort of container should I carry peanut butter in?
4. I was planning to bring a 4 inch Gerber pocket knife. Do I need a multi-tool instead?
5. Should I bring my waterproof pack cover? Trash bags instead?
6. What type of socks? The smartwools I have seem too heavy for West Virginia in July.
7. I was planning to bring a Merino wool long john top and bottom. Is this necessary?

Thank you WhiteBlaze!! I’m too excited!

Mountain Mike
06-03-2013, 17:14
1) personal preference depending on hiking shoe/boot
2) recoat it or seam seal or buy cheap one from Campmor. Not to much of worry in summer
3) Carry it in container you bought it in
4) knife is larger than what you need unless you carry a watermelon. No multi tool needed.
5) I prefer pack cover & important items in waterproof sacks, some use trash can liners.