PDA

View Full Version : Quarry Gap tp Harpers Ferry

Mandodn8
06-04-2013, 14:43
I'm new to WhiteBlaze and starting here because my surfing of the other subtopics is causing TMI. The answers I need are probably elsewhere but I'm not sure where to go.

My wife and I plan to spend about five easy days on the AT in late June headed southbound to Harpers Ferry. Quarry Gap seems to be a good place to start but we are flexible.

I am looking for info about:
Shuttle service from Harpers Ferry to Quarry Gap
Potable water along the way
Resturants and stores near the route.
Sleeping bag(s)- Our current choices are individual two pound down bags or a double fleece blanket bag with a cover made from two Survive Outdoors Longer Sport Utility Blankets.
Used gear- we be rambling up the Blueridge from the Gulf Coast and are interested in any any suggestions about good places to buy used gear.

Any info or suggestions about other places to go in the forums to find the info will be welcomed.

P.S. Awesome Site!

birchy
06-05-2013, 07:24
Call MT ROSE (aka Terri) at 717 352 2279 for shuttle information

illabelle
06-06-2013, 13:29
Be sure your trip includes the Quarry Gap shelter. It's one of the very best on the entire trail!

FarmerChef
06-06-2013, 13:57
Do you have a copy of the Thru Hiker's Companion or the Guide? Both will give you all the information you are looking for. Additionally, you can purchase trail maps/guides (for just the sections you are hiking) via the ATC's online store or via the PATC (maintainer of the sections you'll be hiking).

Stream water in late June can begin to get sketchy but there is potable water at several points along the way, including Washington Monument State Park, Caledonia St. Park, Pen Mar Park, and Gathland State Park.

Bags in late June in MD. I doubt you'll need em. I use fleece sleeping bag liners that cost about $12 on Amazon. Some nights it's too hot to sleep inside them.