PDA

View Full Version : external vs internal

diogenes
07-21-2005, 12:16
sorry im kind of new to backpacking. why are internal frame packs so much more popular than external frames? in all the pictures not one person seems to have an external pack. are they really that bad? :confused:

SGT Rock
07-21-2005, 12:23
It is a matter of preference. External frame packs provide better ventilation and are often cheaper and many times are lighter than the equivalent internal frame pack.

But, internal frame packs seem to carry better and are often more comfortable for people. So much, that the benefits of an external don't seem to compare.

The best solution IMO is to get light enough to go with a pack that has neither and has a good enough suspension system to make it comfortable for your load.

kyhipo
07-21-2005, 12:23
well i have used and external for five yrs and like them but i guess most people like the new style of the internals ,i dont know why just a choice and extenal packs are not really a bad choice in my opinion:dance ky

Footslogger
07-21-2005, 12:29
In addition to the points already made ...externals tend to be a little wider and shorter than internals. They have more outside pockets. On well worn trails with good clearance that is not an issue. Internals are narrower and taller, which is a big advantage on mountain trails where you are sliding between large rocks or walking along the edge of a sheer drop off.

I've used (and still own) both but I prefer the internal style for all my backpacking these days.

'Slogger
AT 2003

diogenes
07-21-2005, 13:54
thank you very much

max patch
07-21-2005, 13:55
I prefer an external...especially when hiking on a well groomed trail like the AT...but I will readily admit that I am in the distinct minority in the external/internal debate.

Spirit Walker
07-21-2005, 15:31