PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on entitled hikers (and a message to Ron Haven)

Sunwolf
06-22-2013, 14:20
Greetings all.

I will be thru-hiking nobo in 2014. This will be my first long-distance hike. When it comes to the AT and thru-hiking in general, I am a rank newbie. I recognize this and in some ways I celebrate it. For me, the magic (if any) is in front of me.

When I first developed the obsession I researched everything I could. I came upon story after story of selfless people in trail towns, trail angels, as well as grateful hikers who humbled themselves and were truly thankful for the support they received. Thankful enough to go out of their way to give something back to the trail and the people who make it what it is. Then I started reading about the entitled hikers. I read about the thefts, the abuse, the vandalism, the demands. I read about how people like Ron Haven can no longer take the snotty ingratitude and are slowly but surely pulling out from their interactions with the trail and the increasingly obnoxious hikers.

Part of me wants to encourage Ron and others to just stick with it. I'm sure there are plenty of good people who thru-hike and I'm sure those who ruin it for the rest are a tiny minority. I'm sure the vast majority of Ron's interactions with thru-hikers are still positive and I'm sure he's met with gratitude and thanks from most. But then I think about our society and realize the problem isn't the hikers. It's the people.

I'm a disabled veteran. I get money from the government every month. I hate it. It embarrasses me. That being said, I know that if I didn't, I'd probably be living on the streets. A few weeks back I was talking with my VA (Veteran's Administration, not Virginia :D) therapist. He was telling me about how frustrating his job can be. About how many vets come in and just sit around, not talking, not working on their issues. When he asks why they're there, they answer, "I have to show up to keep my disability."