PDA

View Full Version : Planning for BMT/AT Loop in 2014

Wild Blue
06-29-2013, 18:11
Hello All,

2014 is looking real good for me to take an extended trip and I'm thinking the BMT/AT Loop will be my goal. My family and I spent last weekend in Northern Georgia where we visited Amicalola Falls and Springer Mtn. I also stopped by North Georgia Mountain Outfitters, met Travis, and obtained the BMT thru hikers guide and the Trails Illustrated maps covering the route.

I'm relatively new to WB but have found it to be informational and entertaining at the same time. Of course a public announcement of a goal always helps maintain motivation too. Looking forward to posting updates and learning more about the trail. In the meantime I have a friend from work who is interested in the doing the "Georgia Loop" this September or October. That should serve as a good test run. I'm also a furloughed civil servant starting in July and I choose to take the positive view that this will allow me more time to hike and enjoy the outdoors.

Cheers,
Pete

SGT Rock
06-30-2013, 14:53
Let me know what I can do to help.

Wild Blue
06-30-2013, 19:38
Thanks I will. I'm sure Ill have some resupply and GSMNP permit/procedure questions as I plan.

I am planning to hike northbound on the BMT and South on the AT. Probably start in May, or June, any pros or cons to that time period?

You already have helped me BTW, through your book.

SGT Rock
07-01-2013, 06:56
May all services should be open. Southbound on the AT in june the thru-hiker rush should be through, so it sounds like a good time frame to me.

Toli
07-01-2013, 07:40
Hello All,

2014 is looking real good for me to take an extended trip and I'm thinking the BMT/AT Loop will be my goal. My family and I spent last weekend in Northern Georgia where we visited Amicalola Falls and Springer Mtn. I also stopped by North Georgia Mountain Outfitters, met Travis, and obtained the BMT thru hikers guide and the Trails Illustrated maps covering the route.