PDA

View Full Version : Genuine Help Requested

Just Bill
07-11-2013, 13:38
I will start this thread in Straight Talk if needed,but I hope we can police ourselves. As mentioned,I am looking for actual help; despite the Naysayers I have been using this sitefor several years, even though I am a recent member. Map Man and many others have been usefulresources and I hope to tap into that knowledge. Even if you are not a “speed hiker” you mayfind this information useful. My hopethough is that we can keep this thread goat free so that we don’t need to wadethrough too many goat droppings trying to find the one in twenty usefulcomments. Sorry for the rant!
Speedhiker/ Sub60 attempt goals
The primary goal- avoiddelay.
The secondary goal- keepcarried food to 10 pounds or less leaving resupply.
The third goal-maximize “town” calories. It is impracticalto carry enough food to meet your needs, you have to supplement with town foodand calorie bombs as often as possible.
So- hopefully we canall help out with this, and help each other. This site contains so many folks that know their sectionsintimately. I live in Chicago, my memoryis only so good. I think this is atopic/resource that helps everyone- fast, slow, or in between. I will update this spreadsheet- or happilypost a link to the excel sheet once the initial fact checking, error correction,and hopefully additional info pours in.
I put it in a PDF foreasy reading/printing. If you seequestion marks- those are spots, distances, or services I’m not sureabout. Data and trail distances are fromAWOL’s 2013 northbound book.
Alittle further philosophy if you want it;
Carrythe least amount of weight possible; food is by far the heaviest item, followedclosely by other consumables.
In orderto increase trail time; reduce town time and stops.