PDA

View Full Version : Gear list and advice!

Gypsyphoenix
07-13-2013, 21:45
Hi all, I'm a noob! I woke up one morning with trail fever! This is going to be my first long-distance hike ever. I've done some hiking/camping before, but never pulled major time like I will this upcoming season. I am not hiking alone but will be dragging my mother along with me (hopefully)! Im planning on doing the stretch from Franklin, NC to Damascus, VA over the course of 33 or so days in May. I've tried to do as much research as possible to get as much bang for my buck as I can. (Aren't we all?!!!:)) As of right now the only thing Ive actually bought is a pair of Merell boots because its going to take some time to break them in. So I'm going to give a run down of my gear minus clothing and food. Any and all advice is welcome!

Pack- Gregory Savant 58 wt 60oz

Shoes- Murell Moab wt 58oz

Sleeping bag-USGI Patrol sleeping bag wt 32oz

Padding- Therm-A-Rest Ridge Mattress wt 19oz -I cant do without some kind of padding to sleep on do to chronic lb pain

Stove- Esbit Solid Fuel Stove and cookset wt 19oz

Fuel Esbit solid fuel cubes wt 6oz

Water- MSR Sweetwater System wt 11oz

and- Aquamira wt 1 oz

Water bladder- MSR Dromlite wt 3oz -we arent planning on hiking shelter to shelter

Dry sacks-Sea to Summit 13L and 4L wt 3 & 2oz

Lighting- Energizer Weather ready carabiner crank LED flashlight wt 3oz

Knife- Gerber multi tool wt 3oz

Cording-Army standard issue paracord 50' wt 5oz

Dry Grear-Frogg Toggs DriDucks wt 12oz

Flip-Flops (for camp) wt 7oz

2 bic lighters wt 1 oz

Duct tape wt 1 oz

Bandana wt 1 oz

Camera wt 8 oz

Smartphone wt 8 oz

Visor wt 4oz?

First aid and meds wt 6 oz???

So that's 335 oz or 20 lbs 15 oz minus food and clothing.
Food will be re-supplies by mail. Most will be freeze dried or dehydrated.