PDA

View Full Version : Smelling the Flowers?

Rasty
07-15-2013, 16:21
There has been a plethora of posts about stopping and smelling the flowers. What's your take?

Lone Wolf
07-15-2013, 16:25
i ain't bendin' over to smell nothin'

hikerboy57
smell the what? the things ive been stomping on for the last 5 months in an effort to "make miles"?
actually the flowers smell the same regardless of what speed you choose to hike.personally, i remain flexible in my days on the trail. sometimes i'll take lots of breaks. others i'll hike pretty much all day.just take it as it comes, take what the trail gives me

hikerboy57
i ain't bendin' over to smell nothin'

who said anything about bending over?

jersey joe
07-15-2013, 16:32
I say do what makes you happy(HYOH). Some people love hanging out at camp and hiking 10mpd. Others love to get up at dawn and hike 10-12 miles by lunch time. Both people are "smelling the flowers" in their own way. Just because you hike a lot of miles doesn't mean you aren't taking in your scenery and enjoying your surroundings.

Also, I have observed that hikers that hike fewer miles per day tend to judge hikers that put in more miles by saying things like "smell the flowers", but I can't recall seeing a hiker who puts in more miles judge a hiker who puts in fewer miles per day.

JustaTouron
07-15-2013, 16:39
Also, I have observed that hikers that hike fewer miles per day tend to judge hikers that put in more miles by saying things like "smell the flowers", but I can't recall seeing a hiker who puts in more miles judge a hiker who puts in fewer miles per day.

Really, you have never heard a hiker say something to the effect of, "that's it, I did more miles than that before lunch" 'Cause I have.

You must have also missed the thread where someone quite asked about having a section for slower hikers (we have a section for speed demons) and all the sarcastic comments.

snifur
07-15-2013, 16:42