PDA

View Full Version : Pack size for short trips (1-4 nights)

Que Sera
07-22-2013, 12:15
I'm an avid day hiker but new to backpacking. I have been doing research for months and am slowly acquiring gear.

I plan to start with some overnight/weekend trips and work my way up to longer trips. That being said, could I get by with a smaller pack for short trips (35-50L)? Or should I just go ahead and buy a large pack (60-65L)? I'm mainly asking because money is tight and I know smaller packs are cheaper. However, I have no idea if I'll be able to fit everything into a smaller pack. Since I've never done this before, I have no real sense of what different size packs will hold. I'm not trying to go UL, but still paying mind to overall pack weight.

Thoughts?

The Solemates
07-22-2013, 12:42
completely depends on the type of trip you will be undertaking and the time of year you will be going. i often take a 1500 cubic inch camelbak for a 1-4 night trip in the summer. for the same trip in the winter (defined by me as snow on ground and in the teens or below at night) I need 2500-3000 cubic inches.

Since it sounds like you are fairly new to this, I would go with a 3000 cubic inch (or so) pack. That will be versatile enough for many types of trips. 60-65 L is way overkill unless you are spending multiple nights in the bush without resupply. I spent 23 days in alaska without resupply with a 55 L pack.

Namtrag
07-22-2013, 12:47
I use a 60 liter on 3 day trips and am very good at filling it! That being said, the wisdom on here is to buy a smaller pack and force yourself to make good decisions on what you really need to take.

Namtrag
07-22-2013, 12:49
Since you are in the DC area, I would suggest maybe to find an REI nearby that has rental gear, and give both size ranges a weekend to see how you do.

Que Sera
07-22-2013, 13:15
Thanks!

Nam, my closest REI does rent gear, so that's an excellent suggestion.