PDA

View Full Version : What are some of the unrelated to hiking things you did on a hike?

Dogwood
07-24-2013, 01:05
What are some of the most interesting, even off the wall, unrelated to hiking experiences you've had on a hike?

Watching Lion King attending a political speech and asking President Obama questions in Iowa on his ADT hike was interesting to me.

rocketsocks
07-24-2013, 01:34
Being asked to go skinny dipping by two naked crazy chicks at the Allenbury inn in PA, and then going to a killer cast party. I passed on the dip...but the party was cool.

Having a 1911 45cal. pulled on me and forced to do a line by a dude that thought I was a cop...Catskills, NY

Helping rescue a girl from a local creek who jumped off a bridge and hit her head on a rock...also in the Catskills, NY

Hill Ape
07-24-2013, 02:33
hiking in the nantahalas, came to a road crossing. a crowd of amateur astronomers were setting up telescopes, they called it a star party. i ending up hanging out all night for something called a messier (sp?) marathon. it was fascinating. i learned more about the cosmos that night than i ever had in school.

Dogwood
07-24-2013, 02:57
Well, you kicked off the thread right Rocketsocks. Hey, if you have a son that hikes have you considered trailnaming him Right Rocketsocks?

rocketsocks
07-24-2013, 06:53
Well, you kicked off the thread right Rocketsocks. Hey, if you have a son that hikes have you considered trailnaming him Right Rocketsocks?
He's the original rocketsocks...use to run everywhere!

SonrisaJo
07-24-2013, 07:10
Hitched about 50-miles (each way) to go to the midnight premier of a Harry Potter movie. Tough hitching too, even though it was in Maine. I had the most patient hiking buddy ever.

HikerMom58
07-24-2013, 07:36
I love this thread already.. I can't add anything to it but I'm enjoying reading it. SonrisaJo.. that long hitch to see Harry Potter = amazing. :D