PDA

View Full Version : Pillows

Trebor66
07-25-2013, 21:46
What's your favorite pillow? Shoving some dirty clothes in a stuff sack, an inflatable, DIY, or none at all?

Double Wide
07-25-2013, 21:57
I've got a sweet fleece-lined stuff sack from REI that I use as my clothes bag. At night, I turn it inside out, put the clothes back in it, and then have a fleece pillow. It's a great piece of gear that I absolutely love.

Ezra
07-25-2013, 22:32
The nearest rock laying outside the tent. :D

Actually I just clothes.

Feral Bill
07-25-2013, 22:35
Stuff sack full of clothes. Maybe a boot in a pinch.

MuddyWaters
07-25-2013, 22:38
I keep my minimal clothing,headnet, puffy, gloves, whatever in a 5 gal paint strainer mesh bag. It weighs 0.5 oz. Costs $3 for two. I twist it up the excess length, and it makes a round pillow, about 10" in diameter, secure it with a rubber band.

Ive been doing it this way for a couple years. It makes a good pillow, its as light as it get, its OK against side of face too. My shoes usually go under the end of my sleeping pad to incline my head slightly as well.

If im wearing all clothing I can use raingear , if im wearing that too, its OK just using the shoes under the pad, esp with inflatable pad. Leave a gap between then, put them under toe-first, and it will cradle your head nicely while inclining it slightly.

Sly
07-25-2013, 22:44
Besides a food bag? A dry, balled up Frogg Togg jacket makes a nice pillow.

Odd Man Out
07-25-2013, 23:22
...its OK just using the shoes under the pad, esp with inflatable pad. Leave a gap between then, put them under toe-first, and it will cradle your head nicely while inclining it slightly.

I like the shoes idea. I will try that.

Rocket Jones
07-26-2013, 06:34