PDA

View Full Version : How Cheap Is Too Cheap?

dperry
08-01-2005, 20:10
All this reading and lurking on this site is getting me very impatient to get out and start my campaign of section hiking the AT, in addition to the fact that my girlfriend seems very interested in becoming a hiker princess. :clap Since I have no backpacking experience whatsoever, I want to take a year or so to get practice in easy situations before actually going out into the wild, so that makes me even more impatient. The problem is, however, that right now I'm quite poor (and my girlfriend's not much better off,) and given that I'm going to be going back to school for my master's degree, that probably won't be changing much anytime soon.

So how am I going to get the necessary equipment? I'm sure I can cover some of it by asking mommy and daddy to give me a gift certificate to REI or EMS or something for Christmas (and my girlfriend can ask her folks), but that will only get me so far. So anyway, I was in K-Mart the other day on unrelated business, and saw a $40 tent. Naturally, this filled my little head with all sorts of ideas, but I figured I should sit down and think about this a little bit.

So the question is, has anyone had experience with getting really cheap equipment from the Wal-Marts and Dick's Sporting Goods of the world, and how has it been? If I have to replace things once every five years, that's one thing, but if I have to replace them every year, or things fail catastrophically while we're on the trail, that's another. What's your thoughts?

justusryans
08-01-2005, 20:20